How to lock the screen in GNOME

I’m sure that many of you are used with the <Win>+<L> key combination in
windows, to lock the screen. In Ubuntu (the distro I use), the
corespondent shortcut is <CTRL>+<ALT>+<L>. But, in many other distros
there is no shortcut for this command. Here is what you can do to assign a shortcut for locking the screen. (In order to do that, you have to activate the Win key. Read “How to use the Win key in Linux” to find out how to do it.)
Open the gconf-editor by typing “gconf-editor” in the terminal.

nongeek@mma:~$ gconf-editor

Go to: apps>metacity>keybinding_commands

select keybindings-commnads

Read more>>



7 thoughts on “How to lock the screen in GNOME

  1. There is a much simpler way to ‘lock’ the screen for me – Ctrt+Alt+F1

    No one here knows the Alt-F7 combination to go back to the graphics mode 😉

  2. :)) Yes, you’re very right. The (virtual) console is a “the scarry linux thing” for most of the people.

  3. @Binny V A hahaha, I hit ctrl-alt-f1 without really reading the next line and panicked because I didn’t expect the linux ‘shell”. Thankfully I remembered that the function keys are mapped to different virtual desktops and one of them is the gnome screen, so after a few tries I found that ctrl-alt-f7 brought me back. then i read the rest of the post and saw that you mentioned that! lol

Leave a comment