My favourite linux music player

Well, i’m not talking about Amarok, neither XMMS. Actually, i’m not even thinking of a GUI music player. I’m talking about mp3blaster. Mp3blaster is an interactive text-based Mp3 Player. So, if you are looking for the best Linux Mp3 Player you’re not on the right page. For a good list of choices, have a look at Binny’s Top 10 Linux MP3 Players. there you’ll find the right player for you.
Back to my player. Why in the world i’m using a text console based player? Hello!!! We are in the 21 century, you may say. That’s the point. This is the century of the applications that swallow all the CPU and memory available. The last thing I need is that a simple application, (like Audacious, my current GUI music player), to use a lot of my humble (computer) resources.

Mp3blaster works in a similar way to Xmms or WinAmp, there are play and stop buttons, the shuffle and repeat mode option and so on, as well as a menu-based playlist. It supports mp3, ogg, vorbis, wav, and sid audio files. Also it offers the possibility to divide a playlist into albums. There is also a simple mixer utility.

Mp3Blaster runing on terminal

The quick way to install it (in Ubuntu) :

nongeek@mma:~$ sudo apt-get install mp3blaster

You can always download the latest version from SourcefForge.net.
I use the player in the virtual console (CTRL-ALT-F1), so no matter what I do in the X session (e.g. logging out to change the user) the music it’s running and it’s costing me almost no resources.
By the way, what Mp3 Player do you use?

Bookmark and Share

One thought on “My favourite linux music player

  1. Thanks for the link. I will try out MP3Blaster – its not there in the fedora repository. I’ll install it from source.

    One great thing about writing that list – I am learning about a lot of new MP3 programs.

    > By the way, what Mp3 Player do you use?
    Amarok – no competition there.

Leave a comment